RPPSG’s innovative projects that contribute to the conservation of lobster stocks and to its habitat in the Gaspé!

Lobster hatchery

To compensate 3 to 5% of the annual catches, the RPPSG produces in hatchery lobster larvae which are released on the seabed of the Gaspé Peninsula. The culture strategy is based on the Aquahive ™, an innovative nursery system designed specifically for lobster. Since 2010, 883,000 stage V lobsters have been seeded and to reach the minimum catch size 6 to 8 years after their release at sea.

JOBEL, the electronic logbook

Visionary, in 2012 the lobster fishermen from the Gaspé were the first to use an electronic logbook (JBE) in Atlantic Canada. The RPPSG then developed JOBEL software, a JBE used on board vessels to collect information on daily catches and transmit them in real time to Fisheries and Oceans Canada. JOBEL, winner of the prestigious Mercuriades 2019 competition as a new technology, is used by other fisheries in Quebec and the Atlantic.

Artificial reefs

The development of artificial reefs is a way to improve lobster habitat in unproductive fishing areas, to increase the productivity of the species and the biodiversity of the marine environment. Made of natural stones, reefs create new habitats suitable to the natural deposition of lobster larvae, juveniles as well as adults, in addition to attracting fish and invertebrates, because they create a new habitat providing shelter and food.

© Copyright - An initiative of the Regroupement des pêcheurs professionels du Sud de la Gaspésie - Website by Jolifish

Des projets innovateurs du RPPSG qui contribuent à la conservation des stocks de homard et à l’amélioration de son habitat en Gaspésie !

Écloserie de homard

Pour compenser 3 à 5 % des captures annuelles, le RPPSG produit en écloserie des larves de homard qui sont ensemencées sur les fonds marins de la Gaspésie. La stratégie d’élevage est basée sur l’Aquahive™, un système novateur de pouponnière conçu spécifiquement pour le homard. Depuis 2010, 883,000 homards ont été ensemencés au stade V pour atteindre la taille minimale de capture 6 à 8 ans après leur ensemencement.

JOBEL, le journal de bord électronique

Avant-gardistes, en 2012 les pêcheurs de homard gaspésiens ont été les premiers à remplir un journal de bord électronique (JBE) au Canada atlantique. Le RPPSG a alors développé le logiciel JOBEL, un JBE utilisé à bord des bateaux pour récolter des renseignements sur les captures journalières et les transmettre en temps réel à Pêches et Océans Canada. JOBEL, lauréat du prestigieux concours des Mercuriades 2019 en nouvelle technologie, est utilisé par d’autres pêcheries au Québec et en Atlantique.

Récifs artificiels

L’aménagement de récifs artificiels est un moyen d’améliorer l’habitat du homard dans des secteurs de pêche peu productifs, d’augmenter la productivité de l’espèce et la biodiversité du milieu marin. Faits de pierres naturelles, les récifs créent de nouveaux habitats propices à la déposition naturelle de larves de homard, aux juvéniles ainsi qu’aux adultes, en plus d’attirer des poissons et des invertébrés, car ils créent un nouvel habitat fournissant abris et nourritures.

© Copyright 2020 - Une initiative du Regroupement des pêcheurs professionels du Sud de la Gaspésie